Board of Directors

                                        2019 – 2020ASAHPERD Leadership Directory                                           
Board of Directors, Council Officer and Appointees
(*Voting Members)


Board of Directors:


Penny Edwards



Ginger Aaron-Brush

Pelham Oaks Elementary

Derrick Lane

Morris Slingluff Elementary

Donna Dunaway

Samford University – Retired
Executive Director

Donna Hester

UAB – Retired                
Vice President Health Division*

Tricia Neura

Hoover City Schools
Vice President-Elect Health Division*

Ellen Turner

Thompson High School
Vice President Physical Educ. Division* 

Michael James

Woodmeade Elementary School
Vice President-Elect Physical Edu. Division*

Becky Peterson

Rocky Ridge Elementary School
Vice Pres Sport & Ex Science Div.*

GIna Mabrey

Jacksonville State University
Vice Pres -Elect Sport & Ex Science Div*

Tyler Williams

Samford University
District 1 Representative* (18-20)

Carrie Beech

Spanish Fort Elementary
District 2 Representative* (19-21)

Rhonda Spears

Highlands Elementary
District 3 Representative* (18-20)

Angela McHugh

Ashville Elementary
District 4 Representative* (19-21)

Benita Gordon

Greenwood Elementary
District 5 Representative* (18-20)

Ronald Ashley

Southlawn Middle School
District 6 Representative* (19-21)

Patricia Maiden-Lewis

Robert C. Hatch High School
District 7 Representative* (18-20)

Jessica Wallace

Weeden Elementary School K-4 
District 8 Representative* (19-21)

Justin Foster

New Hope Elementary/High School
 Advocacy Co-Chair (18-21)

Sherri Huff

Birmingham City Schools
Advocacy Co-Chair (19-21)

Nick Rankins

Lowndes County Middle  
State Department of Education Rep

Governor’s Commission on Fitness

Phil Holmes

Governor’s Commission on Fitness

Deane Pack

Council Officers:
Adapted Council Chair

Dana Webb

Oxford High School
Adapted Council Chair-Elect

Jill Burt

Selma City Schools
Elem. Physical Educ. Council Chair

Jaime Giangrosso

Cahaba Elementary
Elem. Physical Educ. Council Chair-Elect

Cindy O'Brien

Hueytown Elementary 
Middle/Sec Physical Educ. Council Chair

Autumn Smith

Leeds Middle School
Mid/Sec Phys Educ. Council Chair-Elect

Laura Vines

Austin Middle School
Athletics Council Chair

Brenda Vinson

Walter Welborn High School
Athletics Council Chair-Elect

Tonnie Glover

Thompson Middle School 
Higher Education Council Chair

Claire Mowling

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Higher Education Council Chair-Elect

Angela Russell

Auburn Montgomery
Physical Activity Council Chair

Patrick Shremshock

University of North Alabama
Physical Activity Council Chair-Elect

Deanna Pack

Governor's Commission 
Research Council Chair

Jean Ann Helm Allen

University of North Alabama
Research Council Chair-Elect

Danielle Mason

Pike Road Schools

 Future Professionals Council Officers:
Phillip Smith

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Jayla Maye

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Sydney Bozeman

University of West Alabama 
Beth Allen Smith

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Sandra Sims
Future Professionals Advisor (2017-20)
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Appointed Positions: 
Social/Digital Media Manager (2019-20)

Ginger Aaron-Brush
Pelham Oaks Elementary
ASAHPERD Journal Co-Editors (2019-20) Awards Chair (2018-19)

Allison Jackson
Samford University
Lee Renfroe
U. North AL
Jean Ann Helm Allen
U. North Alabama
Legislative Liaison (2019-20)

Connie Dacus
Alabama State University
Liaisons from Allied Groups:
American Heart Association:

Gina Smith
NCHPAD/Lakeshore Foundation:

Allison Hoit-Tubbs
NCHPAD/Lakeshore Foundation:

Alex Martinez


Are you interested in serving on the ASAHPERD Board of Directors or do you know someone that would be an asset to our Board?