ASAHPERD offers recognition for outstanding professionals (teachers of the year, health educators, recreation professionals, dance educators, coaches of the year), outstanding students & major’s clubs, outstanding administrators, outstanding lay leaders & service leaders, and outstanding ethnic minority leaders.

Our award recipients are honored at our awards presentation and social during the Fall Conference. 

Our honorees for this year are:  




College/University Physical Educator

Connie Dacus

Alabama State

Health Educator

Caroline Valentino

Baldwin Co HS

Outstanding Administrator

Andrea Hamner

Huntington Place ES

Teacher of the Year-Elementary

Cindy O’Brien

Hueytown ES

Teacher of the Year-High

James "Bubba" Livingston

Jackson-Olin High

Teacher of the Year-Middle

Jonathan Thompson

Banks Middle School

Angie Nazaretian Lay Leader Award

Heidi Ramey & Jeff Adams

Blue Cross/Blue Shield

Service Award

Dr. Hank Williford

 Auburn University at Montgomery

ASAHPERD Honor Award

Nancy Ray

 Alabama Department of Education